What does 6500rpm sound like

Post general questions relating to Tigers
meadowhog
Posts: 391
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:50 pm
Location: South Bucks

What does 6500rpm sound like

Post by meadowhog » Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:28 am

Rev counter neverworks. Dont know what my engine should sound like when changing up at max revs. Theoretically with the gearbox I have, I should reach 70mph in 1st before changing up, but I dont.

Is there a you tube sound I can listen to or as some have said listen for that tell tale rattle or is there a kit of capacitors and resistors I can buy to sort out the rev counter? I;d rather do that myself than the superb speedy cable rebuild.

http://www.sunbeamalpine.org/downloads/ ... r_rev5.pdf

Best Jaeger rebuild info I can find but Maplins dont get it. Is there a kit or simple list for the UK that I can ask RS for?

Mal
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:39 am
Location: NZ

Post by Mal » Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:13 am

What rev counter do you have ? Stoc Tiger only goes to 5500rpm.

I have a smiths for electronic ign. Looks similar if you don't look to hard

Image

Cheers Mal
Image

BlackDog
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 3:44 am
Location: Canada

Post by BlackDog » Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:28 am

I've built several 8k tachs using a new Autometer unit and adding a re-lettered Jaeger face, indicator, glass and bezels...
http://www.flickr.com/photos/51418115@N ... hotostream

BD

bigbob
Posts: 371
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 11:31 am

Post by bigbob » Sat Dec 01, 2012 7:44 pm

Try "bobs supercharged tiger" 2 posts on you tube. 1 at Rickover, 1 on a blast.

martin172
Posts: 1022
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 2:14 pm

Post by martin172 » Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:56 pm

Just watched the vids.

Do you find blood trickling out of your ears every now and then and have you noticed a lot of underpinning work being done in your neighbourhood recently?

Tomaselli
Posts: 941
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 2:03 pm
Location: Cheshire, North West England

Post by Tomaselli » Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:58 pm

They do look great, a batch of the 8k tachs had been organised recently by Gary Jackson and they don't look out of place at all;

Image

If you have the MK2 then the smaller font from the 'Alpine' (7k though) duly converted for V8 is a useful alternative...

Image

meadowhog
Posts: 391
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:50 pm
Location: South Bucks

Post by meadowhog » Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:49 pm

OK, wait till my ears bleed or get a re-calibrated Alpine Taco.

Is the Monster reving past 6.5 or should I think "Its goner blow and just a bit more".

I dont think Bob had his upto 6.5 on the way to the national. I was right behind him on the M40 thinking about about the fuel leaking out of his tanks.

Tomaselli
Posts: 941
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 2:03 pm
Location: Cheshire, North West England

Post by Tomaselli » Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:05 pm

You could also fit an MSD unit then you know, like me, you can abuse without breaking the engine :mrgreen:

meadowhog
Posts: 391
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:50 pm
Location: South Bucks

Post by meadowhog » Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:14 pm

I only abuse her in doors!!

meadowhog
Posts: 391
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:50 pm
Location: South Bucks

Post by meadowhog » Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:15 pm

BlackDog wrote:I've built several 8k tachs using a new Autometer unit and adding a re-lettered Jaeger face, indicator, glass and bezels...
http://www.flickr.com/photos/51418115@N ... hotostream

BD
Whats this autometer unit?

BlackDog
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 3:44 am
Location: Canada

Post by BlackDog » Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:15 am

The 'Autometer unit' is the new 8k Cobra tachometer in the left side of the pic from my link above...
The case gets modified to fit some 4" Jeager bezels and glass... and then a 'donor' tach face from a suitable Jaeger gauge is modified and re-lettered to take the place of the face on the Autometer tach. The needle from a Jaeger Tach also replaces the Autometer piece and the completed assembly looks great!!

pruyter
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by pruyter » Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:30 am

Another possibility is repairing the tachometer by using the the instructions from the american citizen Tom Hayden. This engineer published a brilliant article on the internet with the title "Repair/Upgrade for Sunbeam Alpine Electronic Tachometer". I have had contact with Tom by email and I bought from him 2 kits with parts which costed me € 17,44 for 2 kits including p&p. So each kit costs no more than € 8,72!
Because this 2 kits are mentioned to be used for both my Tiger and a Tiger from a friend Tom has provided in each kit a 5.23 resistor to be used as the R5 which is used in the Alpine tachometer.
The instructions which can be found on the internet are very clear and photos are used in order to indentify the parts which must be replaced.

Regards,

Peter Ruyter

meadowhog
Posts: 391
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:50 pm
Location: South Bucks

Post by meadowhog » Tue Dec 04, 2012 9:25 pm

Hi Peter,

The link I attached is Tom's. Its great, I just wish I could buy a kit in the UK.

pruyter
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by pruyter » Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:23 am

Hi meadowhog,

sorry that I did not check the link you provided first. It is indeed a splendid article! If you want to buy a kit why not contact Tom as I did and buy the kit from him? The costs are included P&P something like 6 or 7 GBP. The advantage of buying from Tom is also that he replaces in the kit one part that was mentioned for the Alpine for a part which suites the Tiger.
If you want his emailaddress I can give it to you, if you want.
Tom is a very nice person who ownes an Alpine and is nice chatting with. The only thing was that at times it demands some energy from me in order to follow him when he is explaining more details about the tachometer than you need. But all in all Tom was very helpfull.
Regards,
Peter

meadowhog
Posts: 391
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:50 pm
Location: South Bucks

Post by meadowhog » Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:16 pm

Hi Peter,

That would be great if you could send me his email.

Just been told I'm being sent to NY State for 3 months. Maybe I could pick that up and maybe some other goodies.

Thanks
Simon

Post Reply